(BUG) Archived Pages Republished, Duplicated, Mutated with Broken History

Hi there

I'm a developer (with 3+ years experience developing in Prismic) working along side content management teams and go to market teams.

We had a release the other week where we were supplicating some pages on our website with new documents (e.g page on 'this-url' of type blog_post was being switched over so the page at 'this-url' was of a new_type with more features in it).

Needing to maintain the links on production (no down time between the new document living at that url and old document being archived), the following steps were taken:

1. During development of the new type, the documents were never published (except for one test post that was deleted) and existed in draft mode with the same URLs as the current ones, but with a '1' appended to the end (as obviously live urls cannot be reused).

2. After development had completed and we were ready to go live, I switched off all of our Build Hooks while we made the switch

3. I changed the uids of the old posts (appending zz to the end of their URLs before archiving them). It is important to note these old posts never had 1s appended to them. This only happened on the new type.

4. I then updated the uids of the new posts to old ones (removing the '1') and published them.

5. confirming the old ones were archived and the new ones were published on the correct urls, I turned the build hooks back on, and we figured we'd washed our hands of it

Instead, a content enterer pointed out today that the old posts were in fact still live and still published in Prismic.
Important NOTES:

• the published old posts now had a '1' appended to their UIDs. We never added '1's to the old posts, only the unpublished drafts of the new type.