Questions on Multi-lingual support

Hi,

I'm new to Prismic and so far I'm quite impressed with it. I was wondering though if the platform allows for some configuration to tackle some concerns:

1. Common fields across multi-language documents: My blogs can have one or more tag and tags are linked to categories. Both, tags and categories have fields that should have the same value irrespectively to the language, and some others that have the translation in the language. For example, categories have a colour field that should have the same value regardless of the selected language. At the moment I need to setup colour in each language separately, which is fine as this categories are slowly changing, but I have the same with blogs and those change frequently. It's just a risk I want to avoid if possible. Is there a solution for this?

2. Overview which docs are available in which language: On my website, some non CMS managed content links back to CMS managed content irrespectively to the language. As such it's really important that I can see very quickly if one or the other document, tag, tag category has not been translated in all supported languages. With the current view, I don't see this however. I would have to write a function in my backend that retrieves all docs and alerts me if something is missing. IS there a way to see in the documents list for each document which translations exist?

3. Language choices - Is there a config which i can use to switch from the 5 character ISO code to the 2 character iso code? My website only supports the 2 code version and i would otherwise need to translate the language codes.

4. Document list - is there a way to define which columns appear in the document list? would be quite useful as some fields related to the same of other documents.

Thanks a lot,
Peter

1 Like

Hi @peter2

Thank you for reaching out to us.

After going through all of your questions, here is my understanding point-wise: