Slice machine clarity

Hi,

I'd like to request some clear and honest communication about slice machine and what you can and can't do with it, and what is and isn't recommended at this stage.

There are many, many questions on this forum about slice machine and I would even say mixed messages about when to use it, when not to use it, migration, etc.

As a developer, I've found the communication about slice machine really confusing. Especially when it comes to existing repositories and what is/isn't supported (integration fields for example).

As an example, on What Is Slice Machine? - Documentation - Prismic and Set up Prismic with Next.js - Documentation - Prismic, I can't seem to find any clear communication that you should not use Slice Machine for existing repositories, only for new production repositories, as there is no migration path at present.

Is it just me, or would that be super helpful to have on that page? I know that our development team has attempted to follow that guide on an existing repository and got half way there before realising things like integration fields aren't supported.

This post Migrating a large site - #21 by dan.parker comes to mind as a clear example of all of the confusing surrounding it. I totally agree with the point in this post about documentation - if I go to Next.js and Prismic - Documentation - Prismic, everything is about Slice Machine. For those of us with existing repositories that can't migrate to slice machine, all of the previous documentation has disappeared and we no longer seem to have a reference about how to build things with the legacy builder and slices.