Struggling to understand the purpose of Slice Machine

I have been using prismic for roughly 18 months now, and I am really struggling on finding the reason to use Slice Machine. Can someone explain the advantages of it over just making a slice in Prismic itself? I still can't figure out any advantages. We have been making slices like always - make the slice in the content type in prismic, make a component file for the slice. We have been able to do a lot of dynamic values (background color, alignment, side of text or side of image etc...), and it has all worked perfectly.

We use Nuxt, and in our site our components directory is as follows:

components
--SlicesBlock.vue
--slices
----SliceA.vue
----SliceB.vue
----etc...

And it has always been fine. Is Slice Machine just a workflow tool, or is it something that is going to be required in the future? It seems like a lot of unnecessary steps when the standard way works just fine.

Thanks

Hey @rob.kristie,

Welcome to the Prismic community, and thanks for posting this question!

To answer your last question:

Is Slice Machine just a workflow tool, or is it something that is going to be required in the future?

Slice Machine is a workflow tool. You will always be able to use Prismic without Slice Machine. It's good to hear that you've got a development workflow that you're happy with!

Personally, I still don't always use Slice Machine for projects. Sometimes I like coding my own SliceBlock because it gives me peace of mind to know exactly what is happening in my project. Or I might do so if I don't need a component-based layout.

Now, to answer your first question,

I am really struggling on finding the reason to use Slice Machine. Can someone explain the advantages of it over just making a slice in Prismic itself?

Slice Machine offers a few benefits:

Quick Setup