Why archived cannot be moved to draft state?

If by mistake a publish an document.

Then I unpublish this document (aka archive).

Then if I want to keep editing the document, I cannot use the preview mode, because is only available for draft and published documents.

Hey @mohamed, it is true. You need to move the document back to a draft, or to a release to be able to preview it. It isn't possible to perform these actions with archived documents.

If you click the history button in an archived document, sometimes you can click restore on the most recent version and it'll go back to draft. Not sure if this helps in your situation but it has always worked for me

I didn't notice the "history button". It works for me too. Thank you.