The used UID in the archives is really a problem for us.
For instance, if I have a document that had ABC123 in the UID at one time then it changed to something else, then that UID is never available again. If I want to use ABC123 for a new document, I cannot do that if another document once had the ABC123 UID.
From the documentation “After you’ve duplicated it, you can delete the original and this will allow you to use “old-uid” again.”
Also from the docs: “We save all the previous UID values of a given document so that your old links won’t be broken on your site when you change a UID value.”
I get that, but it would be nice to have an option in case people make mistakes and burn up a UID that we need in the future.